Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

It’s been a while since I have posted about the Outlander series, but honestly, these books never get old. If you remember when I wrote my Outlander review, I was rereading the books because of season 5. Although season 5 is over, there is still much we can discuss about Dragonfly in Amber and season 2.

The Beginning

The beginning of Season 2 is radically different than that of the book. Instead of starting with Frank and Claire moving to America, Gabaldon takes us to Inverness, 1968. We are introduced to Roger Wakefield, the son of Reverend Wakefield (whom we met in book 1), and Brianna Randall, the daughter of Claire Randall. I actually like this portion more than in the show because Claire begins to tell Brianna about her biological father, James Alexander Malcom McKenzie Fraser. And then the second part of the book takes us back to the 1740s, France.

Dragonfly in Amber: A Novel (Outlander)

The Characters

After Outlander, we get to look at Jamie and Claire’s relationship in a different environment. In France, we saw how the Fraser’s lived as aristocrats while trying to stop Prince Charlie for raising his army. Claire is pregnant and Jamie is still recovering from being tortured by Black Jack Randall. Throughout this book we see how fragile their relationship is but also how strong they both are. They deal with loss and betrayal and still come back to each other at the end of the day. While I don’t want to give too much away since there are still folks who haven’t read the books but have watched the series. It still amazing that their love for each other was so profound that Jamie was willing to give it up to save Claire and Brianna.

‘I will find you,’ he whispered in my ear. ‘I promise. If I must endure two hundred years of purgatory, two hundred years without you – then that is my punishment, which I have earned for my crimes. For I have lied, and killed, and stolen; betrayed and broken trust. But there is the one thing that shall lie in the balance. When I shall stand before God, I shall have one thing to say, to weigh against the rest.’ His voice dropped, nearly to a whisper, and his arms tightened around me. ‘Lord, ye gave me a rare woman, and God! I loved her well.’

Dragonfly in amber, page 889

5 Other Differences

  1. When the book starts in France, Jamie and Claire were already there, they hadn’t just arrived as the show suggests. Their original plan was to travel to Rome but the King had sent a letter ordering Jamie to Paris.
  2. Claire doesn’t find out from Sandringham that Captain Randall is alive. Jamie and Claire find out together.
  3. Mary Hawkins was traveling with Sandringham and her uncle, Silas Hawkins, when Claire and Mary met. She was not staying with Princess Louise de La Tour.
  4. In the middle of the war, Prince Charles sent Jamie and Claire to visit his grandfather, unlike the show where they were sent before the battle of Prestonpans.
  5.  Rupert died in the church after getting shot in the eye. Claire was unable to successfully remove it as shown in the show.

If you are interested in reading the novels, you can purchase them on Amazon or your local third party book seller. You can also watch the series on STARZ. The first three seasons are featured on Netflix. Don’t forget to get caught up on season 5!